96 South Main Street, PO Box 77, Nephi, Utah 84648 - Voice: 435 623-0525 - FAX: 435 623-4735
On our front page this week
May 20, 2020



A NEW KIND OF GRADUATION • The Class of 2020 will secure its place in history as they will be graduating virtually tonight at 6:00 pm on www.local10.centracom.com and also on Channel 10 for cable subscribers. The class of 167 students are then invited to participate in a special Grad Drag on Main Street following the broadcast.

By Rebecca Dopp
TN Correspondent

The Class of 2020 will become a part of history as they will graduate virtually tonight at 6:00 pm on local10.centracom.com. Following the broadcast, all seniors (and their families) are invited to take part in the Grad Drag on Main Street at 8:00 pm. Spectators are welcome to line up along Main Street to celebrate the seniors. Please follow social distancing guidelines.

This year’s graduating class, with 167 students receiving their diplomas, has had a crazy ending to their high school experience. Schools were closed on March 16th due to concerns over coronavirus (COVID-19). The governor enacted a soft closure for two weeks before extending the closure to May 1st. He then closed schools for the remaining of the school year.

Teachers were asked to take their assignments online and students finished their schoolwork virtually with the help of Zoom meetings, YouTube tutorials from teachers, Canvas and other means.

All spring sports and activities were cancelled, so seniors participating in those events were skunked out of their final competitions and concerts.

Through it all, the graduating class has shown resolve and determination to finish the year strong and graduate, albeit in an uncommon way.

Starting on May 4th, the seniors were invited to come to the high school in 10 minute increments to film their part of the graduation ceremony. They also took pictures in front of a green screen to recreate the class picture. Speeches and announcements were filmed and the whole ceremony was spliced together to air on May 20.

Top scholars for the class are magna cum laude: Jared Braden, Holton Hennrich, Kristina Jones, Kyden Saner, Kai Taylor, Brock England, Kendra Jones, Teiya Parkin, Ben Settle and Keanna Williams. Cum laude are Laura Allred, Kye Brooks, Erika Bunker, Braden England, Bryce Esplin, Coltin Fletcher, Olivia Foster, Ashlee Hatfield, Treyson Langford, Joshua McFarland, Dannalee Mosteller, Kolin Nielson, Whitlee Rosquist, Karder Shepherd, Dallin Taylor and Dallan West.

Senior class officers are President, Ben Settle; Vice-president, Alexa Greenhalgh; Secretary, Justus Bradley; Senior Ball Chairperson, Erika Bunker; and Activities Manager, Alloa Day.